I am a wound

March 13, 2014

Sometimes I wish I couldn’t feel. 

 

I know that is a bold statement, but it is the truth. I would gladly give up experiencing happiness if it meant I no longer had to suffer through heart-wrenching pain and sadness, which unfortunately for me is the emotion that occurs more often. Now, if you have read this blog before, you know that I suffer from depression. It sucks. Sometimes, though, I am not experiencing my sadness. One of my best friends told me that I am tender-hearted and I take on other’s pain. I believe she is right. I am the ultimate definition of sensitive and emotional. This makes it hard to function. 

 

I feel like I am a wound. Sometimes I scab up and think that I am almost healed, and then something happens. It doesn’t necessarily have to happen directly to me, though. It can be a bad day for my mom or a hard situation for a friend, etc. and it RIPS me open. No longer am I a scab, but I am a full on open wound. I am vulnerable. I am in pain. I am hurting. Hurting for others. Hurting for myself. Hurting because my naive ideals are non-existent. Hurting because people aren’t perfect. Hurting because others are going to disappoint you. Hurting because life is not what you might have planned. I hurt and I bleed out. Eventually though I clean up. I bandage the wound. My patched up self takes on the world. I lead, I am involved. I succeed.

Then, the band aid falls off, and for awhile I think I am going to be fine. I am going to heal. 

 

Until someone, whether that is a stranger or a friend or myself, unintentionally or intentionally rips the scab off. And the process starts all over. And I think to myself, will it ever mend? And even if it does, will the scars it undoubtedly leaves be any easier to deal with? I guess I just need thicker, tougher skin.

One Response to “I am a wound”

  1. terryhjn Says:

    you got that from your dear mother. i also take on everyone’s pain and it is crippling. its just how we are wired. i was a mess yesterday because i read about a puppy that died. i know how you feel because it happens to me every day. it hurts and then it lets up a bit and something else comes along that kills you. a friend once told me that i have to stop taking on the pain of the world but i don’t know how and you don’t either. you end up exhausted and annoyed, bitter and angry – even resentful, but still can’t stop.
    i am sorry i gave you shitty genes but i do love you so!

    meem


Leave a Reply

clay lomneth's photo blog

i guess this is my dissertation

The Life and Times of Nathan Badley...

just like Moby Dick, but shorter and less whale-oriented.

Everyone has trash, Everyone is trashy

View of life from a college student's eyes

strictly classified

Hopefully romantic, searching for some sense in the world

Not all those who wander are lost. -J.R.R. Tolkien

The Good Greatsby

The humor blog of Paul Johnson: He doesn't do it for the money. But he wouldn't object if you gave him some.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

One Album a Day

One man's effort to listen to every album in his collection

Little Wolf

Art Blog of Maryanna Hoggatt

DAILY NIBBLES

always thinking about my next meal

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 751 other followers

