restless brain

Well here I am, feeling very Carrie Bradshaw-esque as I type up this blog post at 1 in the morning, knowing fully well I am going to regret this seeing I have to be up for a 3 hour long literature class in a mere 6 hours. I guess nights like these are why God created coffee and naps!

Like I said, I am up and somewhat awake because my mind is racing. I know I need sleep, but my thoughts refuse to cease, and I don’t know how to fix it. I wish our minds were programed with an “on-off switch” and that a quick flick of a finger would put me in a calm slumber. Am I the only one who struggles with this late night madness? I mean all I am asking for is 6 hours of sleep out of a 24 hour day yet my worries and thoughts won’t allow it. Why is it so hard for me to just relax and clear my mind? Ugh, very frustrating but as a college kid I guess I am supposed to be programmed for these “all-nighters” even if they are not something I intentionally sought out. I am trying to work on my nagging anxiety, but it is easier said than done. I realize that 95% of the things I worry about too are things in the future or something I can’t control. For example, my mind is currently having a spaz attack over a paper I need to write tomorrow, activities I need to complete in the next couple weeks and my SPRING semester. Keep in mind that I am not even done with Jan term… yeah, apparently I have issues. I know that it is cliche but that whole “today is a gift, that’s why they call it the present” thing is very true. I guess I  need to quit having sleepless nights over events yet to come and learn to live in- and wholeheartedly embrace- “the moment.”

Wish me luck and sweet dreams!!!

Night. xoxo 🙂

One thought on “restless brain

  1. we have kindred thought, for sure, sweet girl! I could have written the lines about switching one’s brain off myself!! I struggle constantly with racing thoughts!! no matter how much time you spend worrying about something, it has no effect on the outcome… I know this intellectually, but emotionally I can’t switdh off the worry!!! anyhow… great blog as usual.. you’re becoming my favorite little writer!! go girl!!!!!! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

