quick thanks

This doesn’t really constitute as a real blog post but is just a mere reminder to those who read my blog that no matter what happens in our life, there is always something to be thankful for.

 

This past weekend was spent with my wonderful friends at school that make me laugh and listen to me. All the time. I am so grateful for each and every one of them because I was so scared about how my friend situation would turn out in college. I am outgoing, but it is still scary to think about who will be there for you when you’re crying (or smash cupcakes with you) when you are in a whole new place. I wish I could tell my younger self to relax because as I finish up fall semester of my sophomore year, it is evident that I have great people in my life.

 

In addition to friendships, I am thankful for the solid friendships I have had for years and years. These girls from home have become family to me. I can call them whenever, even though we are far apart now, and things will pick up right where they left off. I am 100% confident that distance cannot shake us and the love that I get from these friendships is something I hope my future kids can experience. Having friendships start in elementary school and still remaining rock solid is a rare thing, and I am so happy that I have had the gift of experiencing it. Although I sometimes feel lonely and unloved, these girls always snap me out of it and remind me that I am important. Their words have saved me and to them I am forever grateful.

 

Family. Family is something we all have, dysfunctional or not. I am blessed to have one messed up family that has made me who I am and loves me. My mom is my number 1. Our relationship is a-typical, but I couldn’t imagine anyone else understanding me the way she does. We are each others rocks and go to people. Although it is stressful at times, there is no one else in the world who I would want to mother me.

Honestly, my life path has not been easy. It has been emotional and challenging and difficult and dramatic and scary but when I take a step back and see the family I have, it puts things in perspective. I have a Papa who texts me all of the time. A Granny who reads and comments on all of my posts, who always tells me I am beautiful. I have aunts and uncles who tell me they are proud of me and check in on me. I have second cousins and great aunts who keep in touch over Facebook. I have 2 brothers who, when they are being kind, are such wonderful people who can do so much. I have a father, who although we will always have a difficult relationship, keeps in touch… something I never thought I would say.

I don’t mean to be sappy. I just feel that I have been in such a funk lately that I need to remind myself the things I do have. Finances are extremely tight right now and it causes me much anxiety, but I know that these relationships I have are soul fulfilling and something that money could never buy. I thank God that I have this.

2 thoughts on “quick thanks

  1. such a wonderful blog, hanny… and so appropriate for this holiday… thanksgiving!!! it is awesome to have so many people in our lives, family and friends, that are the most important component in our existence! they are the reason we get up in the morning, the power that moves us forward despite our difficulties and the comfort, joy and laughter that makes this whole thing worthwhile!! dysfunctional… yes, but the bottom line is… love and devotion!!!! for all these gifts I am truly thankful!! love you sweet girl and can’t wait to see you!!!
    granny xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

