Dreams

You know the phrase, “If your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough”? Well, are our dreams supposed to scare us into crippling fear?

 

I don’t know if it is because I have been home in CP this past week and a half and have had time on my hands to think or because I have recently took on some more adult responsibilities, but I am really scared that I am not going to be able to achieve what I want and make it out in the real world.

 

Now I have never been one that doesn’t succeed, so I know this worry is a little ridiculous, but I think it is because I want A LOT for myself. I am not trying to sound selfish, but I have set a very high bar for what I want my life to be at.

 

I want to graduate with honors. I want to live and work in the city. I want to work in entertainment, possibly write for SNL? Have a talk show? Be famous? I want to start a charity. I want to travel for leisure. I want to travel to volunteer and make a difference. I want  to settle down on the east coast. I want to take care of my family. 

How am I supposed to do that? I pray to God I have it in me. And what if I don’t. What happens to those who don’t reach their dreams? Do they adapt and still find happiness? I mean, I guess it has become part of evolution that humans have the ability to adapt to their surroundings and circumstances and survive, but I don’t want to just survive. I want to thrive. I want my name to be known. I want to mean something to people. I want to make an impact. 

 

All in all, I just have to believe that I am good enough and smart enough But most simply and importantly enough just as I am, and with that, I have to have faith. 

 

Good night.

Leave a Reply

