My Last Lecture

So in my Expository and Critical Writing course, we read Randy Pausch’s Last Lecture, a book all the more literal when the professor found out he had terminal pancreatic cancer months before giving it.

Image

In his last lecture, he told what was his most important wisdom- for his sake and for his young kids’ sakes. Now, I might not have had as much life experience as he did, but my classmates and I were still assigned to write our own last lecture. So, in a nutshell, this is what I have learned to be true:

 

 

 

There are two things I have learned so far in my life-

 

1)      Accept the pain

2)      You will always be right where you need to be.

 

These two pieces of wisdom go hand in hand for me. Once I accepted that the sad, painful parts in my life were worth something, that they led me to where I needed to be, I knew I could survive. I knew I could thrive. I know you can thrive.

 

Life sure is not easy, but isn’t that what makes it worth something?

 

I am only twenty-one, but I have had my fair share of hardships. I have dealt with emotional abuse, a broken family, near poverty, emotional sickness, self-loathing, loneliness, insecurities, physical illness (had by family members and myself), severe homesickness, betrayal and an all around sense of not feeling like I was supposed to be on this planet; that I was not supposed to be here, like I was some kind of mistake. At some points I thought I would always be sad. That it would never end. That I would not make it out.

 

I have learned though that neither mine nor your creation was an accident, and that every hardship makes the good experiences that much richer. Any time we struggle and fall down a dark, dark pit, it makes the peak that much greater. And it makes you that much stronger, that much more resilient. I am not saying that the low points are enjoyable by any stretch of the imagination, but in these times you can see how worthy you are. You learn that you are amazing. You learn to love and nurture yourself.

 

What do I recommend? Take the hard parts as they come because they are inevitable. Remember to trust that there will be a light at the end of the tunnel, too. No matter how far you have fallen, you will get out. You have done it before. You will do it again.

 

Once you see this light, you will find solace in the fact that you are where you are supposed to be. You do not have to be religious but you can be faithful or hopeful in the fact that you are going to be where you are needed. Where you are appreciated.

 

So dream big. Be bold. Do what makes you happy and follow your heart’s passions. We are only here for such a short time that it is silly to do something that does not light you up. Learn what makes you better and do it. Because no matter what you will be in a good place. If you work hard enough, if you believe, it will all end up ok.

 

There is a reason that you are here. You are important. You touch so many others’ hearts. Know that your presence and life mean something and go be whatever it is that you are. You will not be ok…you will be great.

 

Leave a Reply

