bye 2015

I am supposed to be finishing my graduate school app right now, but instead I am re-living parts of my life through the selection of certain songs because I am Hannah, and no matter how old I get, I will always be a Grade A procrastinator.

Isn’t it amazing how many memories can come flooding back to you with the play of one 3 minute song. How we can suddenly relive very vivid memories by listening to a simple chorus? It’s magical and raw and wonderful.

In some ways I want to do everything I can to relive 2015 and in some ways I want to erase it from my memory. The whole “every action garners an equal and opposite reaction” thing rang true this year. I graduated college! I got a job that was perfect for me! I moved to Chicago! But my Granny unexpectedly died. And my whole family’s structure instantly crumbled to a pile of rubble that I don’t think can ever be rebuilt. And I constantly feel like my head is spinning.

2015 was definitely not mundane, and if I could have one wish for what 2016 brings, I ask for stability. I have done the whole roller coaster thing and now just want an easy ride. I know life doesn’t tend to work like that, but I pray that maybe this year will be calmer. I hope to become more familiar and comfortable with my new city and job while continuing on this journey to become the best me that I can be. I could wish for true love or a pile of money or a six pack, but I really just want a happy normalcy.

I have spent the past 22 years constantly running, and it would be a welcome change to just sit back and enjoy my early 20s. I have realized just how fast the years can pass by, and I want to actively cherish every moment I am a part of.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

